The satellite image of my Airbnb rental is shocking — I want a refund!

She wants an Airbnb refund after she discovered where her rental was located.

Some of our cases get relegated to the Case Dismissed file simply because of the attitude of the consumer. Bonnie Lym’s Airbnb refund request was almost one of them.


I reserved an Airbnb listing for one month in Chile. After I made the reservation, the owner of this Airbnb rental revealed to me that her house was next to a fuel tank storage area and an industrial sand extraction site.

Elliott Advocacy is underwritten by Global Rescue -- Global Rescue is the world’s leading provider of medical, security, evacuation and travel risk management services. Founded in 2004, Global Rescue has exclusive relationships with the Johns Hopkins Emergency Medicine Division of Special Operations and Elite Medical Group. Global Rescue provides best-in-class services that identify, monitor and respond to client medical and security crises. Learn more about Global Rescue.

I immediately contacted Airbnb customer service to cancel the reservation based on safety concerns. I expected a full refund from Airbnb. They told me that their website gives the general location of the house and that I should have known.

I don’t have the computer knowledge to take a map from Airbnb and then search for a satellite image of the location. Airbnb has refused to refund my money citing its policy for long-term rental cancellations — no refunds.

Airbnb’s long-term rental cancellation policy has been described to me as anti-consumer and illegal. Can you convince Airbnb to refund my money? — Bonnie Lym, International Falls, Minn.


I’m not an attorney, but as far as I know, there is nothing illegal in Airbnb’s long-term rental cancellation policy. The company has a team of lawyers to make sure. So I had to look for another route to your Airbnb refund. And I asked you for a paper trail.

During your initial inquiry, you disagreed with me, so you ended our time together and told me that you would be seeking an attorney to go after Airbnb in a “big way.”

Two months later when these efforts did not produce your desired outcome, you sent another request to the Elliott Advocacy team to ask for help. You now appeared willing to do it our way.

But not really.

If you want a refund from Airbnb, you have to use the resolution center

I asked you again for the paper trail between you and Airbnb.

You need all the conversations with Airbnb? They don’t put anything in writing and will only talk to me if I call them. Then they tell me they will get back to me and they don’t. How am I supposed to document that?

Having advocated many cases with Airbnb, this sounded highly unusual to me.

I explained the Airbnb resolution center and how the company handles complaints. This resolution center provides a great way to document all of the interactions between host, renter and the Airbnb staff — it creates a perfect paper trail.

But you had not utilized the resolution center. From what I could gather you had entrusted your nephew to handle many of your resolution attempts — and this was a bad idea. He ignored the instructions in the Airbnb Resolution center and approached the company and the owner in such a way that the results were entirely predictable.

An ill-advised Airbnb review

When I asked you for the listing, you seemed to be reluctant to give me the link. But when you finally did, I saw “your” review of this property. It was wholly ill-advised and bordered on slander. Worse, it didn’t help your case at all:

After I made the reservation, the owner told me that the house is located next to four fuel tanks and that the water in the house is unsafe to drink. We told her to cancel. She refused and is trying to steal our money.

We never stayed at the house — not even one night — because of contaminated water — and Airbnb will not talk to us about a refund. I will never use Airbnb again for not providing any customer service and trying to take our money.

We will never stay with Airbnb again. This is illegal. The owner is going to be sued for all her money if she does not refund our money. We have already hired a lawyer.

The owner responded that she had never told you anything about contaminated water and that this review was utterly false.

You admitted that your nephew had written and posted this review — with your permission.


Threats and accusations won’t lead to a refund

Threatening a lawsuit, accusing Airbnb of illegal activity, and claiming that an owner told you that her own home was contaminated, was a  poor way to try to force a refund from Airbnb or the owner.

Why? Because the contract was on their side; you had no facts to support your claims. Any cancellation and refund that you would be asking for would be a goodwill gesture. The general location of the house is visible on the Airbnb listing. You were free to check out the entire surrounding area before you agreed to a long-term rental at this property.

It wasn’t clear to me how “two fuel tanks” on an adjacent property, across the street, could cause you to cancel the entire reservation without any further investigation. And you admitted that the owner did not tell you that her water was contaminated.

Facts not conjecture

When I didn’t quite see things your way, you then turned your anger at me. You accused me of not being an honest advocate and that I must use Airbnb myself. You pondered how you could have ended up with such an advocate.

As I explained to you, when I approach companies, I need facts, not conjecture. The opinion and review of your nephew was not evidence that I could present to Airbnb to support your refund request.

But not deterred by your insults, I continued on with your case. And I was curious about those two “fuel tanks.”

Your satellite image provided just a small sliver of what appeared to be one, possibly two tanks of something across the street. You really weren’t sure what they were, but it was enough for you to abort your plans for your stay at this home.

The location of this Airbnb rental is shocking

I took the GPS coordinates of this home and zoomed out on Google Maps. And what I discovered shocked even you and fueled your feelings (and ignited mine) that you were owed a full refund for this reservation — despite your unpleasant tactics.

When I zoomed out, I discovered that this home is directly across the street from one of the largest petroleum companies in Chile. Those two fuel tanks that you detected on your small satellite image are just part of a giant operation.

And when I did a Google search, I discovered many articles about this plant. The news wasn’t good. It appears that the locals have been complaining for some time about this operation contaminating the local water and shellfish farms.

Although your nephew knew nothing about this, his suggestions about the water may have been accurate. But, of course, we have no proof.

Airbnb will refund your stay

With this information in hand, I contacted Airbnb on your behalf. I pointed out that you are a senior citizen who had allowed your nephew to make a misguided attempt at helping you and that you had not followed any of the steps to a resolution as noted on the Airbnb website. But I asked the executive resolution team if they might be able to overlook all of that because I thought you had a valid complaint.

I included the screenshot of the satellite image of the home and the petroleum plant. And I also linked our Airbnb contacts to one of the articles about the complaints from residents about the plant.

And soon Airbnb also saw the light about your case.

Airbnb agreed to refund your money and confirmed that the owner will now be required to include information about the proximity of this petroleum plant to her home on her listing.

You are quite pleased with this outcome and have apologized for the lack of etiquette on the part of your nephew. He will no longer be handling your Airbnb account — you told me that you will learn how to use the app yourself.

And even though we had our tough moments, I am happy to have helped. Teaching consumers how to make concise, fact-based complaints and getting positive resolutions is exactly why we are here.


34 thoughts on “The satellite image of my Airbnb rental is shocking — I want a refund!

  1. I was not aware that “near a factory” was a valid reason to receive a refund. (Certainly water contamination would be.)

      1. I’m sure it can be quite unpleasant, but it’s the renter’s job to do their research ahead of time. If their research skills are insufficient to properly evaluate properties, they shouldn’t be using a DIY booking method.

        1. But, it is also the responsibility of the person listing the property to include relevant facts about the property. I fully understand wanting to omit that the property is located next to a petroleum facility but you can’t be surprised that a renter would be upset about that omission. I never considered that I should do a satellite search of a property but I will now include that in the list of things to check before renting.

          1. I can’t imagine renting a property without automatically doing a street or satellite view. I assume the property’s address was listed?

    1. This was not just a factory, but the largest petroleum plant in Chile.
      And the locals believe it has been contaminating their water. The nephew
      may have gone off the rails in his rants, but apparently he wasn’t too
      far wrong. Michelle is to be commended for her patience and perseverance in handling both sides of this argument and getting a satisfactory solution. And the OP learned some valuable lessons.

      1. He got lucky, it was pure, dumb luck. Nephew, and aunt, both handled it poorly and merely were fortunate it worked out. Neither deserves any credit beyond things out of their control.

          1. US law ends but other countries’ laws apply … and can just as easily be used as the basis for a complaint.

  2. Wow. While I understand the anger of this consumer, given her propensity to outright lie (doesn’t matter if the lies were eventually maybe coincidentally true), I’m not sure that she deserved help here. I wouldn’t want to rent that house either, but fraudulent revenge reviews aren’t a way to resolve anything.

    1. Isn’t it amazing how horrible consumers like this will be to get their way, and once things turn in their favor, suddenly they are apologetic? Such jerks.

  3. Wow, you went out of your way to help a nasty consumer. You are far better than me.

    And good for Airbnb to tell this woman she needs to give all the details about this property. She should be kicked off the site for not properly disclosing this.

  4. “But not deterred by your insults, I continued on with your case.”

    OMG – why? This really devalues the brand of your advocacy, IMO.

      1. Supporting scammers and liars is their job? Putting a company name in the headline and tarnishing its image when it was not at fault is their job?

        1. Apparently the advocate didn’t think the person was a scammer. Why do YOU think that?

          Company’s good name? The property is next to a chemical wasteland. When informed of this and refusing to assist, then their name should be trashed.

          Try reading all the information pertinent to this one. You might learn something.

          1. “And you admitted that the owner did not tell you that her water was contaminated.”

            She literally made up words and attributed them to the owner. This is libel. If you want to be made whole, you must come to the table with clean hands. Hers were filthy.

  5. If I were AirBnB management, I would have given her a refund, given the petroleum plant issue, and then told her that, in the future, she should find another travel provider, as she was no longer welcome on AirBnB.

    1. I agree. An abusive guest, pre-stay will be an ongoing headache. Airbnb would be best served to cut its losses and dispose of this toxic person. I am surprised more companies do not use this strategy.

  6. “After I made the reservation, the owner of the rental revealed to me that her house was next to a fuel tank storage area and an industrial sand extraction site.”

    If the homeowner discloses a material fact like that, which they obviously thought the renter needed to know, only after the transaction is completed, then isn’t that a sort of fraud?

    1. given this particular client – I would go so far as to say sh was tole beforehand, and THEN had buyer’s remorse – I just never trust proven liars

      1. Really? The article states ” the owner will now be required to include information about the proximity of this petroleum plant to her home on her listing.” That seems to clearly state that the proximity was not disclosed previously. Sometimes, even clients like this are right.

  7. (slow clap…..) Kudos for handling this prickly lady (who had the audacity to blame it all on her nephew when she was clearly just as rude). And kudos for masterful writing and subtle but pointed shade thrown at the OP. “In your initial inquiry, you disagreed with me, so you ended our time together…” Meaning, it sounds like she hung up on you. Yikes. Well done.

  8. And she has LOTS more patience with people and their not-so-nice comments than I ever would. The letter writer and her nephew should not have made repeated baseless allegations, assumptions or whatever from an advocate who is truly trying to help her at NO charge.

  9. I won’t use airbnb but I had been under the impression that only people who completed a stay at a property could submit reviews – perhaps that was the policy of old but now one can submit a review like this.

    I have mixed feelings about this one – it was handled appallingly by the OP. The threats, the lies – but, I am glad this case was examined in depth mostly because it is a heads up to others booking such accommodations to do more detailed research before booking a home/apartment.

  10. Nothing remotely political argument, of course. I imagine even the author will admit her job description doesn’t include supporting admitted liars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: